Eighth Phase

The Eighth Phase – February 18, 2008 Elections & Onwards

The elections held on February 18, 2008 will always be remembered in the history of Pakistan as a major turning point. Held in the shadows of Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto’s martyrdom, the events which followed also proved historical. Dr. Fehmida Mirza, a third-time winner from a rural general constituency in Sindh’s remote Badin district was elected with an overwhelming two-third majority as the first Woman Speaker of the House, not only in Pakistan but in the entire Muslim World. Along-with her, as many as 15 other women were also elected from the General seats.

Women Members Elected on General Seats in the National Assembly of Pakistan in 2008

Sr. No Name Constituency
1 Ms. Sumaira Malik (PML) NA-69 Khushab-I
2 Ms. Raheela Baluch (PPP-P) NA-78 Faisalabad-IV
3 Mst. Ghulam Bibi Bharwana (PML-Q) NA-87 Jhang-II
4 Ms. Saima Akhtar Bharwana (Ind) NA-90 Jhang-V
5 Ms. Farkhanda Amjad (PML) NA-92 T.T.Singh-I
6 Ms. Saira Afzal Tarar (PML-N) NA-102 Hafizabad-I
7 Dr. Firdous Ashiq Awan (PPP-P) NA-113 Sialkot-II
8 Ms. Sumaira Yasir Rasheed (PML-N) NA-115 Narowal-I
9 Ms. Samina Khalid Ghurki (PPP-P) NA-130 Lahore-XIII
10 Begum Tehmina Daultana (PML-N) NA-169 Vehari-III
11 Ms. Hina Rabbani Khar (PML-Q) NA-177 Muzafargarh-II
12 Ms. Faryal Talpur (PPP-P) NA-207 Larkana-IV
13 Dr. Azra Fazal Pechuho (PPP-P) NA-213 Nawabshah-I
13 Mrs. Shamshad Sattar Bachani (PPP-P) NA-223 Hyderabad-VI
13 Dr. Fehmida Mirza (PPP-P) NA-225 Badin-II
13 Ms. Khushbakht Shujaat (MQM) NA-250 Karachi-XII

The women returning on reserved seats were:

Women Members Elected on Reserved Seats in the National Assembly of Pakistan 2002-2007

Sr. No Name Constituency
1 Begum Ishrat Ashraf (PML-N) Punjab
2 Ms. Maimoona Hashmi (PML-N) Punjab
3 Ms. Qudsia Arshad (PML-N) Punjab
4 Ms. Tahira Aurangzaib (PML-N) Punjab
5 Ms. Nuzhat Sadiq (PML-N) Punjab
6 Ms. Nighat Parveen Mir (PML-N) Punjab
7 Ms. Khalida Mansoor (PML-N) Punjab
8 Ms. Shahnaz Saleem (PML-N) Punjab
9 Ms. Parveen Masood Bhatti (PML-N) Punjab
10 Ms. Sabeen Rizvi (PML-N) Punjab
11 Ms. Shireen Arshad Khan (PML-N) Punjab
12 Ms. Surriya Asghar (PML-N) Punjab
13 Ms. Tasneem Siddiqui (PML-N) Punjab
14 Ms. Nisar Tanveer (PML-N) Punjab
15 Ms. Shaheen Ishfaq (PML-N) Punjab
16 Ms. Anusha Rahman Khan (PML-N) Punjab
17 Ms. Beelum Hasnain (PPP-P) Punjab
18 Ms. Shakeela Khanum Rashid (PPP-P) Punjab
19 Ms. Fauzia Habib (PPP-P) Punjab
20 Ms. Mehreen Anwar Raja (PPP-P) Punjab
21 Ms. Yasmeen Rehman (PPP-P) Punjab
22 Ms. Rukhsana Bangash (PPP-P) Punjab
23 Ms. Naseem Chaudhary (PPP-P) Punjab
24 Ms. Palwasha Khan (PPP-P) Punjab
25 Ms. Farzana Raja (PPP-P) Punjab
26 Justice (R) Fakharunnisa Khokhar (PPP-P) Punjab
27 Ms. Samina Mushtaq Pagganwala (PPP-P)) Punjab
28 Ms. Shahnaz Wazir Ali (PPP-P) Punjab
29 Ms. Kashmala Tariq (PML) Punjab
30 Dr. Attiya Inayatullah (PML) Punjab
31 Ms. Bushra Rehaman (PML) Punjab
32 Begum Shahnaz Shaikh (PML) Punjab
33 Ms. Nosheen Saeed (PML) Punjab
34 4 Ms. Marvi Memon (PML) Punjab
35 Dr. Donya Aziz (PML) Punjab
36 Ms. Fiza Junejo (PML-Q) Sindh
37 Ms. Shery Rehman (PPP-P) Sindh