The Eighth Phase – February 18, 2008 Elections & Onwards

The elections held on February 18, 2008 will always be remembered in the history of Pakistan as a major turning point. Held in the shadows of Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto’s martyrdom, the events which followed also proved historical. Dr. Fehmida Mirza, a third-time winner from a rural general constituency in Sindh’s remote Badin district was elected with an overwhelming two-third majority as the first Woman Speaker of the House, not only in Pakistan but in the entire Muslim World. Along-with her, as many as 15 other women were elected from the General seats.

Women Members Elected on General Seats in the National Assembly of Pakistan in 2008

Sr. No.NameConstituency
1Ms. Sumaira Malik (PML)NA-69 Khushab-I
2Ms. Raheela Baluch (PPP-P)NA-78 Faisalabad-IV
3Mst. Ghulam Bibi Bharwana (PML)NA-87 Jhang-II
4Ms. Saima Akhtar Bharwana (Ind)NA-90 Jhang-V
5Ms. Farkhanda Amjad (PML)NA-92 T.T.Singh-I
6Ms. Saira Afzal Tarar (PML-N)NA-102 Hafizabad-I
7Dr. Firdous Ashiq Awan (PPP-P)NA-113 Sialkot-II
8Ms. Sumaira Yasir Rasheed (PML-N)NA-115 Narowal-I
9Ms. Samina Khalid Ghurki (PPP-P)NA-130 Lahore-XIII
10Begum Tehmina Daultana (PML-N)NA-169 Vehari-III
11Ms. Hina Rabbani Khar (PML-Q)NA-177 Muzafargarh-II
12Ms. Faryal Talpur (PPP-P)NA-207 Larkana-IV
13Dr. Azra Fazal Pechuho (PPP-P)NA-213 Nawabshah-I
14Mrs. Shamshad Sattar Bachani (PPP-P)NA-223 Hyderabad-VI
15Dr. Fehmida Mirza (PPP-P)NA-225 Badin-II
16Ms. Khushbakht Shujaat (MQM)Na-250 Karachi-XII

Source: Library of National Assembly of Pakistan Records

The women returning on reserved seats were:

Women Members Elected on Reserved Seats in the National Assembly of Pakistan 2002-2007

Sr. No.NameConstituency
1Begum Ishrat Ashraf (PML-N)Punjab
2Ms. Maimoona Hashmi (PML-N)Punjab
3Ms. Qudsia Arshad (PML-N)Punjab
4Ms. Tahira Aurangzaib (PML-N)Punjab
5Ms. Nuzhat Sadiq (PML-N)Punjab
6Ms. Nighat Parveen Mir (PML-N)Punjab
7Ms. Khalida Mansoor (PML-N)Punjab
8Ms. Shahnaz Saleem (PML-N)Punjab
9Ms. Parveen Masood Bhatti (PML-N)Punjab
10Ms. Sabeen Rizvi (PML-N)Punjab
11Ms. Shireen Arshad Khan (PML-N)Punjab
12Ms. Surriya Asghar (PML-N)Punjab
13Ms. Tasneem Siddiqui (PML-N)Punjab
14Ms. Nisar Tanveer (PML-N)Punjab
15Ms. Shaheen Ishfaq (PML-N)Punjab
16Ms. Anusha Rahman Khan (PML-N)Punjab
17Ms. Beelum Hasnain (PPP-P)Punjab
18Ms. Shakeela Khanum Rashid (PPP-P)Punjab
19Ms. Fauzia Habib (PPP-P)Punjab
20Ms. Mehreen Anwar Raja (PPP-P)Punjab
21Ms. Yasmeen Rehman (PPP-P)Punjab
22Ms. Rukhsana Bangash (PPP-P)Punjab
23Ms. Naseem Chaudhary (PPP-P)Punjab
24Ms. Palwasha Khan (PPP-P)Punjab
25Ms. Farzana Raja (PPP-P)Punjab
26Justice (R) Fakharunnisa Khokhar (PPP-P)Punjab
27Ms. Samina Mushtaq Pagganwala (PPP-P)Punjab
28Ms. Shahnaz Wazir Ali (PPP-P)Punjab
29Ms. Kashmala Tariq (PML)Punjab
30Dr. Attiya Inayatullah  (PML)Punjab
31Ms. Bushra Rehaman (PML)Punjab
32Begum Shahnaz Shaikh (PML)Punjab
33Ms. Nosheen Saeed (PML)Punjab
34Ms. Marvi Memon (PML)Punjab
35Dr. Donya Aziz (PML)Punjab
36Ms. Fiza Junejo (PML)Sindh
37Ms. Shery Rehman (PPP-P)Sindh